HEAD OVER HEELS :: Solo exhibition by Tschabalala Self (NYC) at Schur-Narula, Berlin

Schur-Narula

Exhibition:
6. – 27. May 2015
Opening reception:
Wednesday, May 6,
6 – 9pm
 
Schur-Narula
Berthelsdorfer Str. 8
(at Oh Pamela)
12043 Berlin
 
Schur-Narula is pleased to present an exhibition of new works by New York City-based painter and printmaker Tschabalala Self. The show brings together works from her series Head Over Heels.
 

Tschabalala Self (b. 1990) received her B.A. from Bard College in 2012 and is currently an M.F.A. candidate at the Yale School of Art. Head Over Heels explores the expectations and fantasies projected upon the Othered female body. These fantasies are both accepted and rejected within Self’s works, and through this disorientation, new possibilities arise.

Self examines the voyeuristic tendencies towards the gendered and radicalized body; a body which is both exalted and abject. Self’s protagonistas, fully aware of their conspicuousness, allow viewers the privilege to experience the multiplicities of their various forms.
 
Schur-Narula is a migratory, international project space currently based in Berlin that aims to call global attention to contemporary artists working primarily in the mediums of painting and sculpture.
 
Tschabalala Self – Biography
 
 

  “The prominent theme of the liberated, yet objectified, female form in Self’s work parallels Marlene Dumas’ rich sensuality of paint via play with notions of desire, the erotic, abjection, voyeurism, racism, nakedness, exposure, and authenticity.” 

  – via Ocean & Martin

 

 

“In the Work Of Tschabalala Self, Art Imitates Life As She Explores the Multidimensionality Of Black Womanhood.”

- read the Interview on Dynamic Africa

 
 

“Contact,” 2014 Oil and acrylic on canvas/ Öl & Acryl auf Leinwand

“Contact,” 2014
Oil and acrylic on canvas/ Öl & Acryl auf Leinwand

 

In Touch 9 + In Touch 2 Tschabalala Self, 2015

In Touch 9 + In Touch 2
Tschabalala Self, 2015

Schur-Narula, Berlin 6. - 27.5.2015

Schur-Narula, Berlin
6. – 27.5.2015

HEAD OVER HEELS :: Soloausstellung von Tschabalala Self (NYC) im Projektraum Schur-Narula, Berlin

Schur-Narula

Ausstellung:
06. – 27. Mai 2015
Eröffnung:
06. Mai 2015
18 – 21Uhr
 
Schur-Narula
Berthelsdorfer Str. 8
(bei Oh Pamela)
12043 Berlin
 
Der Projektraum Schur-Narula freut sich die Einzelausstellung Head Over Heels von Tschabalala Self zu präsentieren. Head Over Heels versammelt neue Werke der New Yorker Malerin und Grafikerin aus der gleichnamigen Serie.
 

Tschabalala Self (geb. 1990) erhielt 2012 ihren Bachelor of Arts am Bard College und absolviert derzeit ihren Master of Fine Arts an der Yale School of Art. Head Over Heels untersucht die Erwartungen und Fantasien, die auf den Verfremdeten – den Anderen – weiblichen Körper projiziert werden. Diese Fantasien werden in Selfs Arbeiten einerseits akzeptiert und andererseits abgelehnt, und dank dieser Desorientierung tun sich neue, andere Perspektiven auf.

Self untersucht voyeuristische Tendenzen gegenüber dem vergeschlechtlichten und radikalisierten Körper – einem Körper, der gleichzeitig erhaben und erniedrigt ist. Sich voll und ganz ihrer Auffälligkeit bewusst, erlauben Selfs Protagonistinnen dem Betrachter das Privileg, die Vielseitigkeit ihrer verschiedenartigen Formen zu erleben.
 
Schur-Narula ist ein wandernder, internationaler Projektraum, der zurzeit in Berlin Station macht und sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, zeitgenössische Künstler einem globalen Publikum näherzubringen. Es werden Positionen mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Skulpturen und Malerei gezeigt.
 
Auszug aus dem Interview in Dynamic Africa, April 2015
 
Tschabalala Self – Biographie
 
 

“Contact,” 2014 Oil and acrylic on canvas/ Öl & Acryl auf Leinwand

“Contact,” 2014
Oil and acrylic on canvas/ Öl & Acryl auf Leinwand

 

In Touch 9 + In Touch 2 Tschabalala Self, 2015

In Touch 9 + In Touch 2
Tschabalala Self, 2015

Schur-Narula, Berlin 6. - 27.5.2015

Schur-Narula, Berlin
6. – 27.5.2015