Submerged! Video+Sound Art Exhibition at Z-Bar, Berlin

Dream Propulsion (Laboratory) by Nicole Antebi and Laura Ortman

12. December 2014

One Night Screening!

Initial Screening: 8.30 pm

Q and A: 9 pm

Looping/30 mns per loop from 9.25 pm to ?

 

Z-Bar, Bergstrasse 2, Berlin 10115
 
 
Curated by Leo Kuelbs and Karl Erickson

 

Artists: Danielle de Picciotto and Alexander Hacke, Sam Marlow and Alon Cohen, Nicole Antebi and Laura Ortman, Kitzinger Gabor and Alex Hamadey, Shir Leiberman, Jonathan Phelps and Fabio Fonda, United VJS, Jim Ellis

 

Submerged! is composed of seven short video and sound art pieces observing shifting mental interiors. Based upon three short stories written by Co-curator, Leo Kuelbs, Submerged! provides liquid visions of a multi-layered, ever-shifting psychological seascape.

A group of visual and sonic-based artists were brought together from a variety of countries including Germany, Israel, Italy, USA, Brazil, Portugal and Hungary, making Submerged! a truly international effort. The multi-cultural aspect of Submerged! is a key component of the concept behind the stories and the show itself. All of the stories are based on dreams, and loaded with universal subconscious triggers. When represented from multiple cultural angles, these mysterious images begin to take shape and reveal themselves.

 

Since its debut in Spring of 2014, Submerged! has appeared in Long Island City, Brooklyn and Budapest with upcoming shows in Thailand and Los Angeles. Leo Kuelbs Collection is proud to present Submerged! in the Kino of Berlin’s famous Z-Bar on Bergstrasse in Mitte. December 12th ’s presentation of “Submerged!” brings full circle, a relationship that began in 2008, with Leo Kuelbs’ first presentation at Z-Bar.

 

“Z-Bar was one of the first sites in Berlin where I felt comfortable. There’s a multi-media mentality that spans generations at Z-Bar. Very personal, warm…drinking a glass of wine in a movie theatre, watching video art with 70 of your closest art friends, it is a fantastic place. Happy to be returning.”

 

From the LKC website:

 

Submerged! is a video+sound art exhibition based on three short stories by co-curator Leo Kuelbs.

 

Considered seven pieces of a whole, “Submerged!” brings artists from a variety of backgrounds together to react to the stories, minimizing narrative aspects while amplifying personal response. The result is a presentation of multi-faceted, dynamic perspectives creating a setting and an almost tangible realization of the subconscious.
 
Eyewitness accounts of fictitious happenings, observed through the psyche of the protagonists are blown apart, the reconstituted fragments then put to sound in this series of collaborative works. Digital and hand-drawn animations mix with overlaid imagery and camera-based work to further envelope the viewer in the “Submerged!” experience.

 

For more info visit also:
 
www.z-bar.de

www.submergedlkc.com

www.leokuelbscollection.com

Submerged! Video+Sound Art Exhibition in der Z-Bar, Berlin

Dream Propulsion (Laboratory) by Nicole Antebi and Laura Ortman

Freitag, 12. Dezember 2014
One Night Screening!
Erstes Screening: 20.30 Uhr
Q and A: 21 Uhr
Looping/ je 30 min. ab 21.25 Uhr – ?
 
Z-Bar, Bergstrasse 2, Berlin 10115
 
 
Kuratiert von Leo Kuelbs und Karl Erickson
 
Künstler: Danielle de Picciotto und Alexander Hacke, Sam Marlow und Alon Cohen, Nicole Antebi und Laura Ortman, Kitzinger Gabor und Alex Hamadey, Shir Leiberman, Jonathan Phelps und Fabio Fonda, United VJS, Jim Ellis

 
Submerged! setzt sich zusammen aus sieben kurzen Video- und Sound-Clips, die sich mit sich verändernden mentalen Zuständen beschäftigen. Basierend auf drei Kurzgeschichten von Co-Kurator Leo Kuelbs, schafft Submerged! ineinander überfließende Visionen einer vielschichtigen, sich stetig verändernden psychologischen Tiefseelandschaft.

Submerged! ist ein internationales Projekt, das visuelle und soundbasierte Künstler aus Deutschland, Israel, Italien, den USA, Brasilien, Portugal und Ungarn zusammenbringt. Dieser multikulturelle Aspekt ist eine Hauptkomponente des Konzepts und der Ausstellung. Alle Positionen basieren auf Träumen und sind aufgeladen mit universellen, unterbewussten Auslösern. Beleuchtet man diese mysteriösen, verinnerlichten Bilder von unterschiedlichen kulturellen Blickwinkeln, nehmen sie Form an und offenbaren sich.
 
Seit seiner Erstvorführung im Frühling 2014 wurde Submerged! In Long, Island City, Brooklyn und Budapest gezeigt. Weitere Vorführungen folgen in Thailand und Los Angeles.
 
Die Leo Kuelbs Collection (LKC) freut sich, Submerged! im Kino von Berlins berühmt-berüchtigter Z-Bar präsentieren zu dürfen. Die Vorführung am 12. Dezember 2014 ist ein krönender Moment einer langjährigen Kooperation, die im Jahr 2008 mit Leo Kuelbs erster Vorführung in der Z-Bar begann.
 
“Die Z-Bar war einer der ersten Orte, wo ich mich zu Hause gefühlt habe. Es gibt dort eine Multi-Media-Mentalität, die Generationen zurückreicht. Sehr persönlich, warm.. du sitzt bei einem Glas Wein zusammen mit 70 deiner besten Freunde aus der Kunstszene im Kino – ein fantastischer Ort.”
 
Von der Webseite der Leo Kuelbs Collection:
 
Submerged! ist eine Video- und Soundkunst-Vorführung, die auf drei Kurzgeschichten von Co-Kurator Leo Kuelbs basiert.
 
In seinen sieben einzelnen Positionen, die das ganze Werk ausmachen, bringt Submerged! Künstler aus verschiedenen Ländern und Disziplinen zusammen und zeigt ihre Reaktionen auf die Geschichten, wobei erzählerische Aspekte minimiert und das persönliche Echo verstärkt werden. Das Ergebnis ist eine Präsentation von vielschichtigen, dynamischen Perspektiven, die eine eigene Kulisse und eine fast greifbare Realität des Unterbewussten schaffen.
 
Augenzeugenberichte fiktiver Geschehnisse, beobachtet durch das Nadelohr der Psyche der Protagonisten, werden zersprengt. Die rekonstituierten Fragmente dann zu Soundkunst zusammengesetzt. Digitale und handgemalte Animationen vermischen sich mit überlagerten Bildern und kamerabasierten Werken, um den Betrachter noch weiter in die Tiefen des Unterbewusstseins eintauchen zu lassen.

 

Mehr Informationen:
 
www.z-bar.de
www.submergedlkc.com
www.leokuelbscollection.com